Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2018

As the opening exhibition of The Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize 2018 closes at Orchard Place the exhibition will be going on tour to The Gallery AUB in Bournemouth, Royal DrawingSchool in Shoreditch, London, and Drawing Projects UK in Trowbridge. I am delighted that a series of my drawings were selected for the Exhibition and won the student prize.

Caroline Burraway wins First Prize for her charcoal drawing, Eden, The Jungle Calais 2016 (2017)

Gary Lawrence wins Second Prize for his drawing, Moonlit Delphi c/o Samuel Palmer (2018), made with Biro, felt pen and poster paint on paper;.

Laura Hudson wins the Student Award for Nail House Drawings (2018). a grid of 9 drawings made with charcoal on wash, on paper, nailed to the wall with upholstery tacks.

Andrew Bannister wins The Working Drawing Award for his graphite drawing, ROC Post '64 (2017). 

Laura Hudson, Charcoal drawing on wash, on paper, 2018

Laura Hudson, Charcoal drawing on wash, on paper, 2018

Referring to real architectural holdouts, where people refuse to make way for the demolition of their homes, these drawings mediate between the photographic records circulating the internet and an ongoing series of paintings. Giving form to the ‘nails that stick out’ is an act of slow archival resistance, a haptic intervention against erasures on digital platforms or city streets. The drawings have to be barely there, a conjuring line on the cusp of one thing or another, a universal something that stands in for something else; they are no place and every place on contested ground.

29 September - 17 October 2018 64 Orchard Place, London E14 0JY

The Trinity Buoy Wharf Drawing Prize, formerly Jerwood Drawing Prize, is the largest and longest running annual open exhibition for drawing in the UK. The exhibition includes a diverse selection of work that explores the nature, role and value of drawing in creative practice today. The shortlist of 69 drawings by 67 practitioners, ranging from works by students to those by established artists, were selected from 1703 submissions received from across the UK. The independent selection panel comprised Nigel Hall RA, artist; Megan Piper, contemporary art dealer; and Chris Stephens, Director of the Holburne Museum in Bath.

The shortlisted drawings are by the following artists:

Becky Allen / Iain Andrews / Michael Angove / Andy Bannister / Garry Barker / Susannah Bolton / Mark Brooks / Ian Brown / Caroline Burraway / Ruth Chambers / Laura Abigail Clarke / Sophie Erin Cooper / Gemma Cossey / Roy Eastland / Benjamín Edwards / Katy English / James Epps /Alex Evans / Peter Ford / Euan Gray / Graham Gussin / Frances Gynn / Marie Harnett / Simon Head / Julie Held / Marguerite Horner / Laura Hudson / Julia Hutton / Tam Inglis / Bridget Jackson / Ben Johnson / Christopher Jones / Helen Jones / Aileen Keith / Nick Kennedy /Paddy Killer / Donghwan Ko / Gary Lawrence / Sara Lee / Irene Lees / Rosie Leventon / Juliette Losq / Steven MacIver / Daniel Mcgirr / Rebecca Mendoza / Eleanor Minney / Claire Mont Smith/ June Nelson / Mark Parkinson / Steve Payne / Sandra Porter / Gary Power / Alex Ramsay /Giulia Ricci / Fiona G Roberts / Caragh Savage / Tim Shore / Philip Smith / Geoff Stainthorp /Chloe Steele / Ilona Szalay / Margaret Uttley / Robert Verrill / Ben Wade / Henry Ward / David Winthrop / Hamish Young

The full exhibition tour details are as follows. 

22 November–10 January 2019 
TheGallery at AUB 
Arts University Bournemouth 
Poole BH12 5HH

2–22 February 2019
Royal Drawing School
19-22 Charlotte Road
London EC2A 3SG

2 March–26 April 2019
Drawing Projects UK
Bridge House
10 Stallard Street
Trowbridge BA14 9AE

4 May–6 July 2019
Chapel Gallery
St. Helen’s Road
Ormskirk L39 4QR